The Calligrapher's Life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ready for a New Style

Yeah! I made it through the first class of the semester. It actually started off without a hitch. I’m proud and pleased to say…no frustrating moments…no self-doubt or anxiety resulted from class assignments.

The subject, Pointed Pen Unical proved easier than I originally thought. Remember last week, I attempted pointed pen uncial on my own. I spent time over the weekend copying traditional uncial, but ended with dissatisfied results.

Luckily, this style interprets pointed pen uncial from the instructor’s perspective. It’s almost like writing in Copperplate without the slanted angles and curving strokes. Don’t get me wrong,  slants and angles rule his hand, but not to the same degree as Copperplate. Whew! It’s great news for me!

Like last semester, I’m sure the class content will progress in stages with more challenging assignments to keep us busy. As long as it’s gradual, I’ll be ready. In fact, I’m looking forward to it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

