The Calligrapher's Life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ditch Those Boring ABC’s: 4 Simple Tips to Practice a New Style

 

Whenever I sit down to my art desk to practice calligraphy, I’m never sure where I’ll start first. I go into it knowing that I want to practice a letter I haven’t tried in a while. Unfortunately, the same nagging questions run through my mind. What letters will I practice tonight? Should I practice the alphabet again? If so, should I try the lower case, upper case or both?

I usually fidget around with my iPod, looking for a good playlist, sorting through pen holders and nibs, and doting over the right paper to use until inspiration strikes.

Occasionally, I choose from a list of quotes provided by my calligraphy class to change things up. It helps to write in the upper and lower case in regular sentence form. But, I’ve grown tired of the same quote lists and discovered different ways to practice a new letter without passing out from sheer boredom.

Of course, as artists, we shouldn’t agonize over reinforcing our skill. Calligraphy is fun and relaxing. So, let’s drop those ABC’s for awhile and expand calligraphy practice with these following tips:

  • Check your address book with names of family members and friends and practice writing the names with formally, like Mr. and Mrs. Robert Brown, instead of Robert and Michelle Brown.
  • Grab your favorite song lyrics from a CD or check Google and enter lyrics for “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”. It brings up the title and song, so you can practice your favorite verse or the entire song.
  • Purchase a book of quotes. You’ll have an endless resource for practice and possibly for a future project. If you have favorite quotes, keep them readily available to pull out for a practice session, so you’ll void using the alphabet. The quotes help you use both upper and lower case letters.
  • Use your favorite bible verse. The book of Psalms offers inspirational verses that make great lines for cards and keepsakes.

Next time you prepare to practice calligraphy, you’ll have no excuse to simply turn to your ABC’s. Break up the monotony and try the suggested ideas. Happy lettering!

What form do you use for warming up or learning a new hand?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

